From inspiration to motivation: The Fresh Start Effect. 

The year 2021 is drawing to a close. 2022, here we come. For many of us, this time of the year let´s us reflect on what we want to let go off in the next year. We then capture these hopes for change in our New Year's resolutions.

Most people make similar resolutions. Today's resolutions include contemporary goals such as saying "no" more often to avoid excessive commitments or limiting social media use or screen time in general (digital detox). The classics, however, are still related to diet, exercise and money.

The phenomenon of using January 1 as a marker for change is widespread. But what explains our desire to radically change something (or usually everything) precisely then?

A study by Hengchen Dai et al. (2014) titled "The Fresh Start Effect." demonstrates that temporal milestones such as a new year, a new month, a new birthday, or even a new academic semester create new "mental accounting periods" that serve two main purposes: Creating distance between the present and the past, and stimulating a broader view of life:

Mental accounting periods, separated by temporal landmarks, create a psychological distance from our past imperfections and encourage us to adjust our behavior to a new, positive self-image.

In addition, temporal landmarks interrupt our daily routine and give us the opportunity to view our lives from a more holistic perspective, which in turn can enable us to devote more time and effort to achieving our goals.

So when it comes to setting goals, each new year presents a new opportunity. The beginning of certain periods seem to be a good opportunity to reinvest in goals because they bring at least a temporary boost of willpower.

But if we're honest, most of us are just reliving last year's unkept promises and unfulfilled goals. Again and again we set out on the same journey (and sincerely believe that this time everything will be different).

So how can we use this motivational boost without falling back into our old patterns and giving up after just a few days or weeks? In other words - how do we succeed in pursuing our goals in the long term?

 

Here are our tips:

Take life on life’s terms – one day at a time. And have fun while you’re doing it. Joe Perry

  1. One at a time

Unhealthy behaviors develop over time. Therefore, it takes time to replace unhealthy behaviors with healthy ones. You don't have to turn your whole life upside down and reevaluate everything. That will only lead to overwhelm. Instead, work on changing one thing at a time.

Make resolutions that you believe you can keep. For example, if you want to exercise more often, schedule two or three days instead of seven. Or if you want to establish a regular meditation practice, start with 5 minutes.

(Recommended reading: Atomic Habits by James Clear)

 

Sticking to good habits can be hard work, and mistakes are part of the process. Don’t declare failure simply because you messed up or because you’re having trouble reaching your goals. Instead, use your mistakes as opportunities to grow stronger and become better. Amy Morin

  1. Focus on learning not perfection

Perfection is unattainable. Remember that minor missteps in achieving your goals are perfectly normal and okay. Don't give up just because you haven't gone to the gym in a week. Everyone has ups and downs. Failure means giving up or not trying to achieve your goals in the first place - not having relapses and missteps or making mistakes. On the contrary - these are necessary steps on the path to success and growth and at best you can gain valuable information from them.

 

Every successful individual knows that his or her achievement depends on a community of persons working together. Paul Ryan

  1. The power of community

Share your resolutions and experiences with family and friends. You can join a group of colleagues who are quitting smoking. Or treat yourself to professional help to achieve your goals: e.g., a meditation class, coaching, an exercise class at your gym. If you have someone to share your goals, your difficulties and your successes with, your path to your goal will be easier and less intimidating.

 

Try new things, step out of your comfort zone, take risks, do things in ways you’ve never done them before, ask for help, surround yourself with self-actualized people, become obsessed with the fact that you have one go-round on this planet as the you that is you, and realize how precious and important it is not to squander that. Jen Sincero

  1. Ask for help

Many of us have a hard time asking for and accepting support. Accepting help from people who care about you and will listen to you strengthens your resilience and your ability to cope with the stress caused by your resolution. If you feel overwhelmed or unable to achieve your goals on your own, you should seek professional help. Psychologists are especially trained in understanding the connections between mind and body. They can offer strategies for adjusting your goals to make them achievable, and help you change unhealthy behaviors and address emotional issues.

Von Inspiration zu Motivation: Der Neustart-Effekt. 

Das Jahr 2021 neigt sich dem Ende zu und das neue Jahr steht bevor: 2022. Damit einher geht für viele von uns auch der Wunsch nach Veränderung, den wir dann hoffnungsfroh in unseren Neujahrvorsätzen festhalten.

Die meisten Menschen fassen dabei ähnliche Vorsätze. Heutige Vorsätze beinhalten zeitgemäße Ziele wie z. B. häufiger „Nein“ zu sagen, um übermäßige Verpflichtungen zu vermeiden oder die Nutzung von sozialen Medien oder die Bildschirmzeit allgemein einzuschränken (Stichwort Digital Detox). Die Klassiker sind jedoch immer noch Ernährung, Sport und Geld.

Das Phänomen, den 1. Januar als Marker für Veränderungen zu nutzen, ist weit verbreitet. Aber wie erklärt sich unser Wunsch, genau dann etwas (oder meist alles) radikal ändern zu wollen?

Eine Studie von Hengchen Dai et al. (2014) mit dem Titel „The Fresh Start Effect“ (Der Neustart-Effekt) zeigt, dass zeitliche Meilensteine wie ein neues Jahr, ein neuer Monat, ein neuer Geburtstag oder sogar ein neues akademisches Semester neue „mentale Buchhaltungsperioden“ schaffen, die vor allem zwei Zwecke erfüllen: Die Schaffung von Abstand zwischen der Gegenwart und der Vergangenheit und die Anregung zu einer umfassenderen Lebenssicht:

Mentale Buchhaltungsperioden, die durch zeitliche Orientierungspunkte voneinander getrennt sind, schaffen eine psychologische Distanz zu unseren vergangenenen Unvollkommenheiten und ermutigen uns, unser Verhalten an ein neues, positives Selbstbild anzupassen.

Außerdem unterbrechen zeitliche Orientierungspunkte unsere tägliche Routine und geben uns die Möglichkeit, unser Leben aus einer Gesamtperspektive zu betrachten, was uns wiederum in die Lage versetzen kann, mehr Zeit und Mühe auf das Erreichen unserer Ziele zu verwenden.

Wenn es darum geht, sich Ziele zu setzen, bietet jedes neue Jahr also eine neue Gelegenheit. Offenbar ist der Beginn bestimmter Zeiträume eine gute Gelegenheit, wieder in Ziele zu investieren, weil sie zumindest einen vorübergehenden Schub an Willenskraft bringen.

Doch wenn wir ehrlich, lassen die meisten von uns lediglich die nicht eingehaltenen Versprechen und unerfüllten Ziele des letzten Jahres wieder aufleben. Immer wieder machen wir uns auf die gleiche Reise auf (und glauben ernsthaft, dass dieses Mal alles anders wird).

Wie können wir also diesen Motivationsschub nutzen ohne nach ein paar Tage oder Wochen zurück in unsere alten Muster zu fallen und aufzugeben? Mit andern Worten – wie gelingt es uns unsere Ziele auch langfristig zu verfolgen?

 

Hier sind unsere Tipps:

Take life on life’s terms – one day at a time. And have fun while you’re doing it. Joe Perry

  1. Eins nach dem anderen

Ungesunde Verhaltensweisen entwickeln sich im Laufe der Zeit. Daher braucht es Zeit, um ungesunde Verhaltensweisen durch gesunde zu ersetzen. Du musst nicht dein ganzes Leben umkrempeln und neu bewerten. Das führt nur zur Überforderung. Arbeite stattdessen daran, eine Sache nach der anderen zu ändern.

Fasse Vorsätze, von denen du glaubst, dass du sie einhalten kannst. Wenn du beispielsweise häufiger Sport treiben willst, plane zwei oder drei Tage ein, statt sieben. Oder wenn du eine regelmäßige Meditationspraxis aufbauen möchtest, fange mit 5 Minuten an.

(Literaturtipp: Atomic Habits von James Clear)

 

Sticking to good habits can be hard work, and mistakes are part of the process. Don’t declare failure simply because you messed up or because you’re having trouble reaching your goals. Instead, use your mistakes as opportunities to grow stronger and become better. Amy Morin

  1. Lernprozess statt Perfektion

Perfektion ist unerreichbar. Denke daran, dass kleinere Fehltritte beim Erreichen deiner Ziele völlig normal und in Ordnung sind. Gebe nicht gleich alles auf, nur eine Woche lang nicht ins Fitnessstudio gegangen bist. Jeder Mensch hat Höhen und Tiefen; du scheiterst, wenn du deine Ziele erst gar nicht versuchst zu verwirklichen, oder wenn du einfach aufgibst. Nicht wenn du Rückfälle und Fehltritte hast. Diese gehören dazu und im bestenfall kannst du wertvolle Informationen daraus gewinnen.

 

Every successful individual knows that his or her achievement depends on a community of persons working together. Paul Ryan

  1. Die Kraft der Gemeinschaft

Teile deine Vorsätze und Erfahrungen mit Familie und Freunden. Du kannst dich einer Gruppe von Kollegen anschließen, die mit dem Rauchen aufhören. Oder dir professionelle Hilfe gönnen, um deine Ziele zu erreichen: z. B. einen Meditationskurs, ein Coaching, ein Trainingskurs in deinem Fitnessstudio. Wenn du jemanden hast, mit dem du deine Ziele, deine Schwierigkeiten und Erfolge teilen kannst, wird dein Weg zum Ziel einfacher und weniger einschüchternd.

 

Try new things, step out of your comfort zone, take risks, do things in ways you’ve never done them before, ask for help, surround yourself with self-actualized people, become obsessed with the fact that you have one go-round on this planet as the you that is you, and realize how precious and important it is not to squander that. Jen Sincero

  1. Um Hilfe bitten

Vielen von uns fällt es schwer uns Unterstützung zu holen und diese dann auch anzunehmen. Hilfe von Menschen anzunehmen, die sich um dich sorgen und dir zuhören, stärkt deine Widerstandsfähigkeit und deine Fähigkeit, den durch deinen Vorsatz verursachten Stress zu bewältigen. Wenn du dich überfordert fühlst oder nicht in der Lage bist, deine Ziele aus eigener Kraft zu erreichen, solltest du dir professionelle Hilfe suchen. Psychologen sind besonders geschult darin, die Zusammenhänge zwischen Geist und Körper zu verstehen. Sie können Strategien anbieten, wie du deine Ziele so anpassen kannst, dass sie erreichbar sind, und dir helfen, ungesunde Verhaltensweisen zu ändern und emotionale Probleme anzugehen.